November Ballot For ANC 5B Races Is Set – Only 2 Races Contested

ANC 5B Boundries 2013
ANC 5B Boundries

Completed petitions for those seeking offices that will be elected this coming November were due August 6th. We checked the DC Board of Elections site to get a handle on the upcoming Advisory Neighborhood Council (ANC) 5B ballot. However things turn out, the ANC will be quite different than it has been in recent years. Notably, current ANC 5B Chair and 5B-01 Commissioner Shirley Rivens-Smith is not running, and neither is current 5B-05 Commissioner Jenese L. Jones. Unfortunately, no one is running in 5B-05, leaving this part of the neighborhood, near Turkey Thicket and the Metro unrepresented. Lastly, readers may remember that current 5B-04 Commissioner Carolyn C. Steptoe triumphantly and emphatically announced her departure from Brookland and her ANC seat via an email statement in late July.

The races for ANC Commissioner in ANC 5B are as follows:

(5B-01) Gayle Hall-Carley and Timothy Thomas
(5B-02) Ursula Higgins
(5B-03) Michael Morrison
(5B-04) Joe Barrios and Rayseen Woodland
(5B-05) —

To see where you live in the ANC 5B boundaries, see the map to the right.

One thought on “November Ballot For ANC 5B Races Is Set – Only 2 Races Contested”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *